Horizon Europe

The future growth and prosperity of Europe relies on its ability to remain a global leader in research and innovation.

Horizon Europe, the 9th European framework programme for research and innovation, was launched in February 2021 under the Portuguese presidency of the Council of the European Union. It has a budget of €95.571 billion for the next seven years  (2021– 2027). A follow-up to Horizon 2020, it aims to significantly contribute to bolstering the science and technology sectors within the European Union, in order to enable it to meet global challenges in crucial fields such as health, ageing, security, pollution and climate change.

In order to continuously stay on track between the priorities of the European Union (a green, climate-neutral Europe, a digital Europe and a resilient Europe), the European Recovery Plan and Horizon Europe, the European Commission has developed a strategic plan in conjunction with the member states.

It was approved on 15 March 2021 and defines the Key Strategic Orientations for research and innovation in Europe, and the expected impacts, for the first four years of the framework programme (2021–2024):

The strategic plan is the foundation for the work programmes that produce calls for proposals from the Commission, which, in turn, offer access to European grants. It also serves as the basis for seeking synergies with national and regional policies within member states.

 

The structure of the framework programme 

The Horizon Europe framework programme is structured around three pillars and relies on a transversal base that is intended to bolster the European research sector. It is also closely linked to research and development programmes pertaining to defence (the European Defence Fund, which has a budget of €7.9 billion) and the nuclear sector (the Euratom Research and Training Programme 2021–2025, which has a budget of €1.382 billion):

This second pillar encompasses European partnerships (institutionalised, co-funded or co-organised) which, unlike ‘classic’ calls for proposals from the Commission, require the signing of agreements between the European Commission and/or the member states and/or the private sector with a view to shared funding. A minimum of 50% of the budget for Pillar 2 will be allocated to funding European partnerships.

Pillar 2 will also include a new concept: missions that aim to integrate civil society (‘quadruple helix’) into the search for solutions to be used to tackle certain challenges. These were launched recently and focus on five themes:

 

Pillars-1024x624.png

 

Who is Horizon Europe aimed at?

Horizon Europe is aimed at any R&I stakeholders (universities and colleges, research centres, small, medium and large companies, public and private organisations, etc.) within member states and works on the basis of calls for proposals launched by the Commission. Funding of projects by the European Commission varies from 70% to 100% of the eligible costs, within the framework of the so-called ‘classic’ calls for proposals (excluding partnerships), which are generating more and more competition.

 

Who to contact?

Submitting a Horizon Europe project cannot be done on a whim. The European Commission has established a network of National Contact Points (NCP). One of their goals is to assist project leaders with preparing and submitting their projects. In the French Community of Belgium, two NCPs play this role: NCP Wallonia (pillars 2 and 3) and NCP FRS-FNRS (pillar 1).

 

What is SPW’s role in all this?

SPW Recherche participates in the framework programme in two ways:

It should be noted that SPW Recherche has decide to co-finance the following European partnerships: Health and Care Systems Transformation, High-Performance Computing, Key Digital Technologies (continuation of ECSEL), Clean Energy Transition, Innovative SMEs (continuation of Eurostars).

Each member state delegates representatives from its research and innovation administrations to the programme committees. Meetings of the programme committees, which are chaired by the European Commission, are held an average of four times per year and are structured around the themes included in the various pillars of the framework programme. Given the institutional set-up of Belgium, participation in the programme committees requires intra-Belgian consultation (known as CIS-CFS), which brings together federal (BELSPO), Flemish (EWI), Walloon, French-speaking (FWB) and Brussels (Innoviris) officials, as well as the Belgian NCPs.

The CIS are responsible for defining the Belgian position that must be defended during the programme committee, with Europe ‘hearing only the voice of the member states and not federal entities.’

In order to collect input from R&I stakeholders in Wallonia and help delegates to defend Wallonia’s position within meetings of the CIS-CFS and the European programme committees, Horizon Europe working groups (GT) were set up in June 2018. These working groups are coordinated by SPW Recherche, in collaboration with NCP Wallonia, and are chaired by the competitiveness clusters, with the exception of the Security working group, which is chaired by an academic. They are composed of the main R&I stakeholders in Wallonia and pursue the following goal: to further integrate Europe into Wallonia’s R&I strategy and to ensure that Wallonia plays a more active role than it currently does in the future research framework programme, thus contributing to revitalising and opening its economy up to the world. The Horizon Europe working groups prepare the participation of R&I stakeholders in the future research and innovation framework programme, by implementing structural actions aimed at better or more significant lobbying and better or more significant networking, that is, creating a framework that is conducive to the submission of projects and attracting more European funds. One of their first actions was to draft a position paper on the future framework programme and to participate in the consultations initiated by the European Commission concerning the development of the 9th framework programme. The definition of Wallonia’s positions is particularly linked to its Smart Specialisation Strategy (S3), which has recently been updated and should be approved by the Walloon government in the first quarter of 2021.

 

Who does what?

Strategic programme committee : Didier Flagother:

Pillar 1 : Excellent Science 

Pillar 2 : Global challenges and European Industrial Competitiveness

Pillar 3 : Innovative Europe

Chairing and coordination of the Walloon working groups (Pillar 2 of Horizon Europe)


Contact

Didier Flagothier

081 33 45 27

Mail

Horizon Europe

La croissance et la prospérité futures de l'Europe reposent sur sa capacité à rester un leader mondial de la recherche et de l'innovation.

Horizon Europe, le 9e programme-cadre européen pour la recherche et l'innovation, lancé en février 2021 sous la présidence portugaise du Conseil de l'Union européenne, dispose d'une enveloppe budgétaire de 95,571 milliards d'euros pour les sept années à venir (2021- 2027). Succédant à Horizon 2020, il entend contribuer de façon significative au renforcement des secteurs de la science et de la technologie de l'Union européenne pour permettre à celle-ci de relever les défis d'ampleur mondiale dans des domaines cruciaux comme la santé, le vieillissement, la sécurité, la pollution et le changement climatique.

Afin de garder constamment le cap entre les priorités de l'Union européenne (une Europe verte et climatiquement neutre, une Europe digitale, une Europe résiliente), le Plan de relance européen et Horizon Europe, la Commission européenne a, avec le concours des États-membres, élaboré un plan stratégique.

Approuvé le 15 mars 2021, il définit, pour les quatre premières années du programme-cadre (2021 - 2024), les orientations stratégiques clés (Key Strategic Orientations) pour la recherche et l'innovatin en Europe et les impacts attendus :

Le plan stratégique est le fondement des programmes de travail qui débouchent sur appels à propositions de la Commission donnat droit aux subventions européennes. Il sert également de base à la recherche de synergies avec les politiques nationales et régionales des États-membres.

 

La structure du programme-cadre

Le programme-cadre Horizon Europe est structuré en trois piliers et repose sur un socle transversal destiné à renforcer l'espace européen de la recherche. Il est également étroitement lié aux programmes de recherche et développement liés à la défense (Fonds européen de la défense doté d’un budget de 7,9 milliards d’euros) et au domaine nucléaire (Programme Euratom de recherche et de formation 2021-2025 doté d’un budget de 1,382 milliard) :

C'est dans ce second pilier qu'on retrouve les partenariats européens (institutionalisés, cofinancés ou coprogrammés) qui, contrairement aux appels à propositions « classiques » de la Commission, nécessitent la conclusion d'accords entre la Commission européenne et/oules États-membres et/ou le secteur privé en vue d'un financement partagé. Un minimum de 50% du budget du Pilier 2 sera affecté au financement des partenariats européens.

Le Pilier 2 comprendra également un nouveau concept, celui des missions qui visent à intégrer la société civile (« quadruple hélice ») dans la recherche des solutions à déployer pour relever certains défis. Celles-ci ont été récemment lancées et portent sur cinq thématiques :

 

Pillars-1024x624.png

 

À qui s'adresse Horizon Europe ?

Horizon Europe s'adresse à l'ensemble des acteurs R&I (universités et hautes écoles, centres de recherche, entreprises (petites, moyennes ou grandes), organisations publiques et privées ...) des Etats-membres et associés sur la base d'appels à propositions lancés par la Commission. Le financement des projets par la Commission européenne varie de 70 à 100% des coûts éligibles dans le cadre des appels à propositions dits classiques (hors partenariats), ce qui génère de plus en plus de compétition.

 

Qui contacter ?

Déposer un projet Horizon Europe ne s'improvise pas. La Commission européenne a mis en place un réseau de National Contact Points dont un des objectifs est d'assister les porteurs de projets dans la préparation et la soumission de ceux-ci. En Fédération Wallonie Bruxelles, deux NCP jouent ce rôle : le NCP Wallonie (piliers 2 et 3) et le NCP FRS-FNRS (pilier 1).

 

Et le SPW dans tout ça ?

Le SPW Économie Emploi Recherche participe au programme-cadre de deux manières :

à noter que le SPW Recherche a décidé de cofinancer les partenariats européens suivants : Health and Care Systems Transformation, High Performance Computing, Key Digital Technologies (suite d'ECSEL), Clean Energy Transition, Innovative SMEs (suite d'Eurostars).

Chaque Etat-membre délègue des représentants issus de ses administrations de la recherche et de l'innovation aux comités de programme. Les réunions des comités de programme, animées par la Commission européenne, se tiennent en moyenne quatre fois par an et sont structurées en fonction des thématiques reprises dans les différents piliers du programme-cadre. Vu la réalité institutionnelle de la Belgique, la participation aux comités de programme nécessite une concertation intra-belge (appelées CIS-CFS) réunissant des fonctionnaires fédéraux (BELSPO), flamands (EWI), wallons, francophones (FWB) et bruxellois (Innoviris) ainsi que les NCP belges.

Les CIS sont chargées de définir la position belge à défendre en comité de programme, l'Europe « n'entendant que la voix des Etats-membres et non des entités fédérées ».

Afin notamment de recueillir l'input des acteurs R&I wallons et d'aider les délégués à défendre la position wallonne au sein des réunions de CIS-CFS et des comités de programme européens, des groupes de travail (GT) Horizon Europe ont été mis en place en juin 2018. Ces groupes de travail sont coordonnés par le SPW Recherche en collaboration avec le NCP Wallonie et présidés par les Pôles de compétitivité/clusters à l'exception du GT Sécurité présidé par un académique. Composés des principaux acteurs R&I wallons, ils poursuivent la finalité suivante : intégrer davantage la dimension européenne dans la stratégie de R&I wallonne et veiller à ce que la Wallonie joue un rôle plus actif qu'elle ne le fait aujourd'hui dans le futur programme-cadre de recherche, contribuant ainsi à la dynamisation et à l'ouverture à l'international de son économie. Les GT Horizon Europe préparent la participation des acteurs R&I au futur programme-cadre de recherche et d'innovation par la mise en place d'actions structurelles visant à mieux ou plus lobbyer, à mieux ou plus réseauter, soit à créer le cadre propice à la soumission de projets et à capter davantage de fonds européens. Une de leurs premières actions a été d'élaborer un position paper sur le futur programme-cadre et de participer aux consultations lancées par la Commission européenne sur l'élaboration du 9e programme-cadre. La définition des positions wallonnes s'inscrit particulièrement dans la Stratégie de spécialisation intelligente (S3) de la Wallonie, récemment actualisée et qui devrait faire l'objet d'une approbation par le Gouvernement wallon au premier trimestre 2021.

 

Qui fait quoi ?

Comité de programme stratégique : Catherine Dath:

Pilier 1 : Excellent Science

Pilier 2 : Global challenges and European Industrial Competitiveness

Pilier 3 : Innovative Europe

Présidence et coordination des Groupes de travail (GT) wallons (Pilier 2 d'Horizon Europe)

 

En savoir plus

 

dernière mise à jour : 6 octobre 2021


Contact

Catherine Dath

081 33 45 49

courriel