Belgian EU Presidency

From 1 January to 30 June 2024, Belgium will assume for the 13th time the rotating Presidency of the Council of the European Union.

As was the case the last time, in 2010, the exercise of the Belgian Presidency of the Council of the European Union takes place within the framework of the trio of presidencies Spain – Belgium – Hungary, on the basis of the provisions of the Treaty of Lisbon, as indicated below.

trio presidence.png

An 18-month Council programme is being developed by the three countries. This programme of the trio will provide the framework for the Belgian Presidency’s programme, to be published in December 2023.

The Belgian presidency of the 2024 Council of the European Union will take place in a very different geopolitical and socio-economic context than in 2010. This presidency will also be part of a particular temporality since European, federal and regional elections will take place during this period (9 June).

The Council is an essential decision-making centre of the European Union. It negotiates and adopts legislative acts, in most cases with the European Parliament under the ordinary legislative procedure. Depending on the subject, the Council brings together the competent ministers of the 27 Member States in ten different configurations. The Presidency of the Council of the European Union is held alternately by each Member State for a period of six months. During this period, the Member State shall chair meetings at all levels within the Council, thus contributing to the continuity of the work of the European Union in the Council.


Wallonia’s role

Within the scope of the competences of the Walloon Region, and depending on the intra-Belgian role, Wallonia will chair the Research, Tourism, Cohesion Policy, Spatial Planning and Housing councils. It should be noted that Wallonia will represent Belgium in Employment and Social Affairs and Energy matters.

For Wallonia, and therefore for the SPW Economie Emploi Recherche, this presidency means taking a series of measures, in particular:

The relevant ministers will chair the Council of Ministers of the European Union in their respective fields.


Do not confuse institutions !

It is sometimes difficult to find oneself among the different institutions or organizations with almost identical names.

In addition to the Council mentioned above, there are also:


Learn more


Didier Flagothier

Nora Devroede

Pierre Demoitié

Théo Gobels

Cédric Morana

Marie Suleau

Justine Tommasin